Ola darlings!

Long time no see, haan?! πŸ˜€ Lemme confess…I love to write, when i am tempted to write not when i absolutely have to πŸ™‚ Many a times i come down to blog only because of the (false) feeling that there are people who await my blabber. Sorry to keep you all waiting till such a day πŸ™‚ Huhhhh! November went by as a busy month. I left for Goa the day after my previous post, returned to gear up for a marriage shoot and then the shoot, then sorting and editing the images for the album and now busy with shifting to a new place. Am peeping towards another eventful month πŸ™‚ Hope you all have been keeping equally high spirited and had a happening month.

Well, I had a moderately long yet amazing vacation at Goa (will come up with a post on same sometime soon). But regardless of the beauty there and the relaxation i had, my head was constantly pondering on the assignment that was awaiting at my return. Yup! a marriage shoot a week after my return. Probably a silly job for the seasoned professionals, but was a big deal for me. No kidding, marriage photography is a serious job. No doubt, having fun doing the job surely reflects in the images but I cant be kidding around with even a single second. Every second around there, is a talking story. Any interruption to direct the rituals or orchestrating the events would totally kill the emotions and magic of the moments that fly around a ceremony like marriage.
Hands gloving the camera controls and eye stuck at the view-finder……. its very similar to a hunting soldier in enemy’s terrritory. There is a surprise to be expected all around and you may need to take a shot in any direction any moment….the best shot you can!!

This was my first complete marriage coverage shoot and arguably the best couple i covered till date. I was appointed by the groom, now a good friend of mine: Nikhil, almost 8 months before the marriage day. I was supposed to capture the engagement ceremony on day 1 and then haldi & marriage ceremonies on day2. All these 8 months, any wedding photos i witnessed, any couple portraits i saw anywhere, i used to envision how i can create a similar interesting frame on Nikhil’s most important day.

As for the actual day, all preparation and envisioning goes out of the window when action time arrives. Honestly speaking i was not able to eat properly from a day before shooting day 1. Already from almost past 3-4 days i was kind of lost in my own. My wife would tirelessly comfort me, help me hold myself together in 1 piece and concentrate on passing a day normally. πŸ˜€ It was driving me nuts to hold all the ideas and keep reminding of the things i gotta do. Nikhil and his bride had seen my work before, assignments which i did voluntarily. Thus I had a fear that their expectations may go higher than what i can possibly deliver. On day 1 as i left home, butterflies in my stomach fluttered hardest. I felt like going to the pot and just be there. For those 3-4 days prior to assignment I had been saying to myself “just focus!” It was time to focus!

It was a perfect winter day for a wedding. From the moment i stepped in to the location, till i left after the couple next day….i was all geared and shooting. 2 cameras, 3 lenses to swap, taking care not to come in way of the videographer or the 2nd shooter, absolutely uninterruptive about the ceremonies and the families involved, the lighting, the hunger, the sweat and the spine πŸ™‚ It was insane yet awesome, it was me pushing me to my limits. God’s grace wrapped me all the time and kept me sane and safe πŸ™‚
I returned home the next day with a himalayan pile of images, painfully crushing thighs and leg muscles owing to the thousand situps, crawling & snailing done and an absolutely tired mind filled with images of 24 hours that went by. No matter how irked i make it sound here, it was awesome! I had a grand time shooting the amazing couple that Nikhil and Suvarna are. They were extremely careful about my state. Amidst the busiest day of their lives, they ensured that i had timely meals, arranged a nice place for the overnight stay and encouraged me to be interruptive to get the shots i wanted. Couldnt have asked for more. You see….when your evaluator is concerned and supportive about you, you automatically are driven to be better (applies to all work scenarios).

Heres the short narration of the beautiful couple’s best day :

Still…. missed the creative couple portraits that we 3 tried to work out someday before marriage and even later. We all were so willing to get the portraits, but 😦  Now that the couple has left city, it seems to be postponed indefinitely now πŸ™‚ Am sad about that, but it is what it is.

What i feel about this assignment and its outcome…..would prefer to keep mum as for now πŸ™‚ Like they say….there’s miles to go before i sleep.
By the way, I have a new space on the net now…bimchum.com has come alive. The site is undergoing open surgery, so bear the mess πŸ˜€ Shout out what you feel about it at bimal@bimchum.com or blow the headphones at 976714926 πŸ˜€

And ye! have a great vacation season ahead. Do lotsa donating this Christmas and celebrate the new year eve at home for a change….Be safe and have fun πŸ™‚

Cheers darlings!

